To paint - François-Marie Banier

I paint on the brink of death, as if forced to something else outside. A sort of pressure or an impulse. An urgency which I neither master nor control. When an idea emerges and I start thinking about it, the picture is finished.

A world develops with its signs, perspectives, vistas, its boundless other places: profiles from another era, chance encounters, dialogues, liaisons which, on the final stage of their journey, require me to be as indifferent as an off-duty ticket collector on a station platform, who turns a blind eye to whatever comes off the train. Yet, who knows what the motley stream of childish joys, old men’s whims and obsessions will be faced with when they arrive?

Where do I start a painting? Where does a world begin? I paint. I follow this running line, that cheek imprinted with a kiss, the trace of another character that my brush takes by surprise, listens to. Painting in the act. A blot becomes a city, a procession, a fire, a desert, a rooftop, a mother’s breast, an eyelid opening.

My painting comes from the guts, the guts of a gladiator at grips with the beast, facing an arena crowded with thousands of people, whose dreams and desires, families, ugliness and innocence, I can sense.

I paint in the heat of the moment; often it’s a story, but told simply, without fuss. I paint through other people, as one might say when one’s heart is overflowing or desperately empty: I am leaving, travelling by the high road wherever my feet lead me. I do not stop at the edge of the canvas. A painting is not brought to a halt by “The End” like a film. I said that my paintings do not have a beginning. I would like them also to have no meaning. For them to be hung upside down, or torn to pieces like holy bread, exhibited in the fairground, shared out and eaten! I had to endure a childhood where people only said that things where fine, or going badly or could be better. “Things”—what things? On the canvas there is no barrier between words and what they say: they are firstly shapes, forms, freedoms—freedoms I have taken. I take “things” by the scruff of the neck and throw them on to the canvas. Sometimes I am gentler, I marry them off with some character so they will make friends at once; because of that paunch, or the nonchalant air, or the half-formed grimace I draw for them: I want “things” to go hand in hand.

My painting: a house on stilts, clouds on the horizon, a shore where the sea rolls its waves on to silent stones, women’s heads spiky with hair-curlers to make the child I was then believe that every woman is a queen, while he was in fact searching underneath for the secrets that pinned them mute to their deckchairs, instead of clasping me breathless in their arms.

I paint to the point of exploding. I paint like lifting a veil. I paint as if I were not painting: spurts of colour, shapes and lines, unknown movements (though, rest assured, some are recognisable). I do not know the rules of painting, but who knows the true measure of sorrow? The colour of God, where is up and where is down? Let me just say that I feel the mood of the canvas, that I know what the weather is outside, and am familiar with the mouldy smell of the cellar.

Unlike the Catholics, I do not have the right to repent. Everything is pre-ordained. The canvas in front of me, or often at my feet, testifies to that. Yes, I am there, right there, full of life, but what life? The canvas, as in the poem, answers: I’m the one who knows! An avalanche of blue, Viento del sur, sings Federico García Lorca. Then follows a pharaoh’s mask, but dug up from whose memory? I have to stop, and quickly, if I want the picture to go on without me. That is when it speaks.

I have been a painter for a hundred years.

Whenever I have to write about what I have done, a novel, a play, photography, painting this time, a dream comes to me before I start.

My pictures are being moved. They are passed from hand to hand and there is a man—or woman—who stacks them up like huge playing cards, or maps, setting off for an exhibition on the other side of the ocean.

I need to find the words to tell this unknown helper what I paint. He can clearly see that my paintings are not portraits, or landscapes or calligraphy, or a mixture of all three. There is expression in them. He sees that I treat these canvases, and him too, with consideration. Respect? Don’t let’s exaggerate. No more respect than I would have for dynamite, if I made it at home.

But in this dream I can only talk with flecks of colour, strokes of blue or black. There is no way I can talk to him except through the movements the brush makes, and each syllable is part of the picture. I understand then what madness is: just a different balance. It all makes sense. It is right. Justifiable. Self-evident and logical like the sentence: painting only speaks its own language.

I plunge into it when I paint. Painting dictates its own life, throws out bridges or snatches them from under our feet as we go forward, embracing everything: an exactitude as much as the spirit, a story as much as a small detail; the past as much as what comes after.

This exchange with my “helper” will not happen: the brush, the colour, the gesture have made the canvas drunk—it talks to itself, waves a hand, and goes off alone: painting only speaks its own language.

If by chance the painting—I am the painting, as you have already guessed—half opened And That’s the Truth by Pirandello, it could say, Thank you, I know. Elena: I’m going. Or, just as well: Don’t be afraid. I’ll be back by this evening without fail.

Does my inspiration come from chance? It collides with and is shaped by the immensity of these worlds which confuse us, which we brush against and pretend to dominate before they bury us. This passage from one universe to another, this confrontation, this chaos, these sudden terrors, sensations, emotions and the colours which sustain them, try to tell a story, or forget one; but what does my brush, my gesture, sweep aside, carry away or leave behind?

To paint

by François-Marie Banier


This text was written by François-Marie Banier,  on the occasion of the release of the exhibition catalog Fotos y pinturas which took place at Centro Cultural Recoleta in Buenos Aires from the 17th of april until the 21th of may 2000.


Photo: Le baigneur, 1999, by François-Marie Banier

Peindre - François-Marie Banier

Je peins au bord de la mort. Comme forcé par autre chose. Une pression. Une pulsion. Avec une urgence que je ne maîtrise ni ne contrôle. C’est quand vient l’idée, la réflexion, que la toile est finie.

Un monde se développe avec ses signes, ses perspectives, ses échappées, ses ailleurs sans frein : profils d’images presque d’autrefois, rencontres inespérées, dialogues, correspondances qui exigent de moi dans cette ultime étape de leur voyage que je sois aussi indifférent que le contrôleur du train après son service sur le quai de toute gare, il ferme les yeux sur tout ce qui débarque : qui sait ce que ces joies d’enfants, ces caprices de vieillards, ces idées fixes qui déambulent vont trouver en face une fois rendus ?

Par où je commence une toile ? Où commence un monde ? Je peins. Je suis ce trait qui glisse, cette joue, marque d’un baiser, trace d’un autre personnage que mon pinceau surprend, entend. La peinture en devenir. Une tache : elle devient ville, procession, incendie, désert, toit de maison, sein d’une mère, paupière qui s’ouvre.

Ma peinture vient du ventre, je parle du ventre de l’homme au combat, face à la bête, face à l’arène remplie de ces milliers d’êtres dont je pressens rêves, désirs, familles, monstruosités et l’innocence.

Je peins dans l’instant et peut-être des histoires et surtout pas d’histoire. Je peins par les autres comme on dit quand le cœur est trop plein ou trop vide : je pars, je vais par les grands chemins où mes pas me portent. Je ne m’arrête pas au bord de la toile. La peinture n’a pas du film l’obligation du mot fin. J’ai dit que la peinture n’avait pas de début. J’aurais aimé qu’elle n’ait pas de sens. Qu’on la pende à l’envers, qu’on la coupe en morceaux comme le pain sacré, qu’on la montre dans les foires, qu’on la distribue, qu’on la mange ! J’ai bien dû l’avaler cette vie d’enfant où personne ne disait rien sauf que ça allait très bien, que ça n’allait pas du tout, que ça pourrait aller mieux. « Ça », mais quoi ? Point de frontière sur la toile entre les mots et leur dire : ils sont d’abord formes, secousses, libertés, libertés que je m’approprie. C’est par le col du paletot que « ça », je te l’envoie dinguer sur le canevas. Parfois je suis plus tendre, je le marie à quelque personnage pour qu’ils fassent amis tout de suite, vu la bedaine, une certaine nonchalance, de l’inachevé dans la grimace que je leur dessine : il faut que « ça » aille de pair.

Mes peintures : maison sur pilotis, nuages à l’horizon, bord de mer qui roule des vagues de pierres muettes, femmes sous bigoudis au sommet de leur crâne pour faire croire à l’enfant de ces années-là que toute femme est une reine alors qu’il cherchait dessous les secrets qui les clouaient muettes sur leur transat au lieu de me serrer dans leurs bras à perdre souffle ensemble.

Je peins jusqu’à l’explosion. Je peins comme on tire un voile. Je peins comme si je ne peignais pas : couleurs, formes, lignes jaillissent, mouvements inconnus dont quelques-uns sont, rassurons-nous, répertoriés. Je ne connais pas les règles de l’art de peindre, mais qui connaît les justes proportions du chagrin ? La couleur de Dieu, où est le haut, le bas ? Disons que je sens l’humeur de la toile, sais le temps qu’il fait dehors et l’odeur de moisi à la cave.

Contrairement aux catholiques, je n’ai pas le droit de me repentir. Tout est inscrit. La toile devant moi, souvent à mes pieds, en témoigne. Oui je suis là, et bien là, plein de vie, mais de quelle vie ? La toile, comme dans le poème, répond : C’est moi qui sait ! Un bleu déboule, Viento del sur, chante Federico García Lorca. Suit le masque d’un pharaon exhumé de quelle mémoire ? Il faut que je m’arrête, et vite, pour que la toile continue sans moi, c’est à ce moment qu’elle parle.

Il y a cent ans que je suis peintre.

À chaque fois que je dois écrire sur ce que j’ai fait, roman, théâtre, photographie, peinture cette fois, ma page est précédée d’un rêve.

Nous déménagions mes toiles. Elles défilent entre nos mains, il – ou elle – les superpose, immenses cartes à jouer ou de géographie destinées à une exposition de l’autre côté de l’océan.

Pour cet inconnu qui m’aidait, j’ai voulu trouver les mots pour lui dire ce que je peins. Il voit bien que ce ne sont ni portraits, ni paysages, ni calligraphies, ni un à-cheval entre les trois. Qu’il y a une expression. Que je traite ces toiles, et lui aussi, avec précaution. Respect ? n’exagérons rien. Pas plus qu’on en aurait envers de la dynamite, si j’en fabriquais à demeure.

Mais dans ce rêve, je ne peux plus parler que par taches de couleur, traits bleus, noirs. Impossible de lui parler autrement que par ces mouvements créés par le pinceau, chaque syllabe est un coin de la toile. Je compris alors ce que l’on nomme folie : simplement un autre académisme. Tout tenait debout. Était juste. Justifié. Évident et logique comme cette phrase : la peinture ne parle que son langage.

J’y plonge quand je peins dans ce domaine qui seul dicte sa vie, jette ses ponts ou nous le enlève de dessous le pied à mesure que nous avançons, embrasse tout : le précis, comme le moral, l’histoire, comme le détail, le passé comme l’après.

Cette rencontre avec mon aide n’aura pas lieu : le pinceau, la couleur, le geste ayant créé, à mon insu, l’ivresse de la toile qui soliloque, tend la main, s’en va toute seule : la peinture ne parle que son langage.

Si par hasard, le tableau entrouvre – c’est moi le tableau, mais déjà vous l’avez compris – La Raison des autres, de Pirandello, il peut dire, Merci je sais. Elena : Je m’en vais. Ou, et tout aussi bien, Ne crains rien : je viendrai sans faute avant ce soir.

Est-ce au hasard que je puise mon inspiration ? Elle se heurte et se forme à l’immensité des mondes qui nous confondent, que nous frôlons, et que nous faisons mine de dominer avant qu’ils ne nous ensevelissent. Ce passage de l’un à l’autre, cette confrontation, ce chaos, ces épouvantes brusques, les sensations, les émotions, les couleurs qui la soutiennent tâchent de raconter, d’oublier, mais qu’est-ce que mon pinceau, le geste, balaient, emportent, déposent ?

Peindre

par François-Marie Banier


Ce texte a été écrit par François-Marie Banier, à l’occasion de la sortie du catalogue de l’exposition Fotos y pinturas qui a eu lieu au Centro Recoleta à Buenos Aires au Brésil du 17 avril au 21 mai 2000.


Photo: Le baigneur, 1999, par François-Marie Banier