Working notes - François-Marie Banier

An exhibition always begins in disorder. As choices and selections are made everything becomes more coherent, things take shape, a worldview emerges from the chaos. The problem is deciding on just what shape it should all take, just what worldview should be expressed.

The first stage involves looking at contact prints. For the photographer, these are like a sculptor’s uncut stone: chunks of raw material from the quarry of reality. Then comes the essential stage of rough-hewing, trimming away unneeded material, making the first tentative steps towards an approximate shape, soon to become an actual outline. Unlike a sculptor, we do not remove unwanted material: this stage is about selecting and setting aside the images we do want.

It is in this state of semi-awareness, essential to the creative act, with our eye trained unflinchingly on the image, entirely focused, that we make some crucial stylistic and emotional choices. Once this operation is complete, everything remains to be done – but the die is cast.

From the mass of instants recorded on a contact print, only 10 %, at the very most, will be chosen and enlarged into working prints.

Sifting through contact prints is a unique thrill, akin to the pleasure a research scientist feels when he peers into his microscope. Our job is to find the glittering nugget buried in tons of black rubble. But a single photo has never been enough for a book or an exhibition. There’s a long way to go yet.

The working prints come back from the lab. We peruse them one by one, sorting the wheat from the chaff, viewing on a large scale what we looked at in miniature a few days before, always eager to unearth « the » photo that stands out from the rest. We feel a little apprehensive: will we be pleasantly surprised or disappointed? In fact, the experience makes us immune to disappointment, for we know that very few photos will survive in any case. In the mechanical discipline of photography, largely based on the principle of quantity, art photography remains the exception: here, the « success rate » will be lower than 10 %.

After setting aside the photos chosen according to a given subject, a form, a set of emotions, a view of life – criteria we try to make as objective as possible but which remain hard to explain – we put them in a box and let them rest for a while. From time to time, we open the box and let them back into our life. It is not just about us adopting the photos: they adopt us, too. This is the best test we can submit them to: as time goes on, we develop new points of view, our mood changes, we become happier or unhappier. The light changes and we can see more clearly, like a painter rediscovering canvases he turned to the wall days, weeks, perhaps even years ago.

Having repeatedly trimmed the selection of photographs, and after some inevitable backtracking, we are left with the pictures that have knocked all the others out of the running. Each of these photos has a different subject and possesses its own special quality; each carries with it a story we can only guess at, taking it beyond mere anecdote and distinguishing it from circumstantial detail, narrative, or factual reporting. All the pictures are independent entities, but even now they alone cannot make a book. The photographer’s style demands that a book or an exhibition should more closely espouse life’s inner movements, that it should be better attuned to the entire array of everyday feelings.

For this reason we rebuild a storyline around our selection, a kind of skeleton of the finished project. We find a beginning, an end, and a thread to link it all together; we create a rhythm; we introduce pauses and interactions; we insert sequences. Now the « big ideas » start to emerge: the title, the cover picture, an overall visual and narrative style. At the end of this intricate process, our aim is to produce a book that can be read both as a novel and an account of actual experiences and life trajectories, passed on through a filter we might refer to as art, or photography, or documentary – it doesn’t really matter.

Working notes

by Martin d'Orgeval


This text was written by Martin d’Orgeval, published by Steidl on the occasion of the release of the exhibition catalog Perdre la tête which took place at the Académie de France in Rome, Villa Medici, from the 26th of October 2005 until the 9th of January 2006.


Photo: Martin D'orgeval by François-Marie Banier

Notes sur le travail - François-Marie Banier

Une exposition commence par un désordre. Au fur et à mesure des sélections et des choix, une cohérence, une forme, une vision du monde vont naître et sortir du chaos. Toute la question est de savoir quelle forme et quelle vision du monde.

La première étape est la lecture des planches contact. Les planches sont pour le photographe comme le bloc de pierre brut pour le sculpteur : une extraction massive de matière première dans la carrière de la réalité. Vient alors le nécessaire travail de dégrossissage. Supprimer la matière superflue, faire les premiers pas vers une forme grossière, bientôt une ligne. Au contraire de la sculpture de taille directe, ici on ne retranche pas : on prélève les images.

C’est dans cette demi-conscience essentielle à l’acte créatif, l’œil collé à l’image, sans recul, que l’on fait les choix décisifs quant au style, à l’émotion. Une fois cette opération effectuée, tout reste à faire, mais tout est déjà joué.

Sur la masse d’instants contenus dans une planche contact, seuls 10 % au grand maximum seront retenus et agrandis en tirages de travail.

La lecture des planches procure un plaisir incomparable, proche du plaisir que peut ressentir un chercheur devant son microscope. Nous sommes là pour trouver une pépite d’or perdue dans des tonnes de caillasse noire. Mais une unique photo n’a jamais fait à elle seule ni un livre ni une exposition. Tout reste à faire.

Les tirages de travail arrivent du laboratoire. Il va falloir les voir un à un, séparer le bon grain de l’ivraie. C’est la redécouverte en grand de ce que l’on a vu en tout petit quelques jours plus tôt. Toujours avec l’idée en tête de dénicher la photo meilleure que les autres, on ressent une légère appréhension : y aura-t-il de bonnes surprises ou sera-t-on déçu ? L’expérience blinde littéralement chacun de nous face à la déception : nous savons que, la plupart du temps, presque aucune photo ne survivra. Dans la discipline mécanique de la photographie qui repose sur le principe de quantité, l’art reste l’exception. Le taux de « réussite » sera cette fois-ci inférieur à 10 %.

Après avoir conservé les photos que nous avons choisies selon des critères de sujet, de forme, d’émotions et de vie – critères que l’on veut le plus objectif possible mais qui restent difficilement explicables –, on les mets dans une boîte et on les laisse reposer. On rouvre la boîte de temps en temps pour les laisser à nouveau entrer dans notre vie. Ce n’est pas seulement nous qui adoptons les photographies, ce sont aussi elles qui nous adoptent. Ceci est la meilleure épreuve qu’on peut leur faire passer : nous avons entre-temps eu d’autres points de vue, nous changeons d’humeur, nous sommes plus heureux ou plus malheureux. L’éclairage change et nous voyons mieux. Comme un peintre redécouvrant ses toiles qu’il avait tournées contre le mur de son atelier pendant plusieurs jours, plusieurs semaines, voire plusieurs années.

Après avoir resserré le choix de photographies un certain nombre de fois – avec de nécessaires retours en arrière -, restent celles qui ont éliminé toutes les autres. Chacune de ces photos de sujets différents a une qualité particulière : elle recèle une histoire que l’on ne peut que deviner, qui va au-delà de l’anecdote, la détache de tout récit extérieur, de toute narration, de toute forme de reportage. Chacune de ces photographies est une entité autonome. Mais à elles seules, elles ne peuvent constituer un livre. Le style du photographe exige qu’une exposition ou un livre soit plus proche du mouvement de la vie, plus en prise avec cette plénitude de sensations quotidiennes.

Nous allons alors reconstruire un récit autour de cet ensemble, sorte de squelette du projet final. Trouver un début, une fin, créer un fil continu, un rythme, procéder à des ruptures et des rapprochements, insérer des séquences. Au cours de ce processus viennent les idées fortes : le titre, l’image de couverture, les partis pris esthétiques et narratifs. À la fin de ce travail de précision, notre désir est d’aboutir à un livre qui se lit à la fois comme un roman et comme un témoignage d’expériences et de trajectoires vécues, transmises à travers un filtre qu’on pourra nommer art, photographie, document – peu importe.

Notes sur le travail

par Martin d'Orgeval


Ce texte a été écrit par Martin d’Orgeval, publié chez Steidl à l’occasion de la sortie du catalogue de l’exposition Perdre la tête qui a eu lieu à l’Académie de France à Rome, Villa Médicis du 26 octobre 2005 au 9 janvier 2006.


Photo: Martin D'orgeval par François-Marie Banier