Against the wall - François-Marie Banier

Sometimes I wrap gauze dipped in chamomile around my eyes to soothe them during a heat wave. Beneath my eyelids I see a stream of initials, faces, countries, verses by absent poets, and mountain profiles. Beneath the gauze life goes on, like the pain of an amputated foot that continues to throb.

I browse the stations of François-Marie Banier’s journey and rediscover the same landscape of visions, although his are unbound and set on film.

Pieter Bruegel, the Flemish painter unjustly called “the Elder” (he died at the age of 44), used to write on the margins of his drawings, “Naer het leven,” near to life. This is how he repaid his debt to reality. He considered painting a form of loyalty.

For me the years following the 1900s are overtime. The century to which I belonged concluded with the bombings of Belgrade and other Yugoslavian cities. It was the return of a war of blind-man’s bluff on civilian life that smashed the homes, bridges, theaters, schools, trains, light-bulbs, and nights of a European people. After the last curtain closed on the twentieth century’s final balcony, I stopped believing that reality exists, that it has consistency. What I saw, looking out on the nights of May 1999 from a window on the top floor of the Hotel Moskva in Belgrade, was tuned an octave higher than my optic fibers. You cannot reproduce anything real: only brutality is sufficiently evocative and visionary. I need gauze dipped in chamomile to see, and I see the passing of photograms from tight, acidic, acute angles. A slit of the eye is behind a view-finder and distorts its target, breaks it into facets, isolates it from its surroundings.

I travel through the stations where François-Marie Banier stopped and I know that I am in an era that by its constitution is disloyal to reality, accusing and absolving the real without looking it in the face. There is an oil war in Iraq, but it’s a peace mission. The most liberal nation on earth is systematically reintroducing torture and the illegal detention of political enemies: Guantánamo Bay, Baghram, Abu Ghraib. The international press swallows and publishes every official version without checking it, as if it were a weather report.

Bruegel’s scruple, “near het leven,” has been abolished. For me François-Marie Banier’s snapshots are the snapping of nerves, the trembling of an irritable gaze, a twitching of the muscles of the eye, which is the last to know what’s happening. (An avalanche is forewarned by the ear, lightning by the bristling of the hairs on the neck and the head, the cold by the tip of the tongue, a woman behind you by the nose.)

For me these snapshots are like a cramp, so I’m not bothered by the ink, the writing over the image, which at other times would have driven me to tear up the photograph. At another hour I wouldn’t have been able to read the writing or the image. Now I know that in the captions a line streams by that does not seek to explain but to insult, that a handwritten leprosy is spreading that makes an indentation on the sheet, like a cold sore on the lips.

Not a single rule in the book of Leviticus/Vaikra establishes purification rites for the scourge of writing that erases surfaces rather than illuminate them. In some of these apparitions the ink from the pen is in the final stage of the expiration and detachment of limbs.

Banier seeks to look upon cities that are overexposed (Rio, New York) with the sole presumption—humility’s ally—of a man who has decided to document a geographic place that no one had noticed before. Unless a photographer is a little like Columbus or Magellan, who can boast of being the first to reach uncharted territories, he is a dubber.

By the same token a writer should be like Adam, giving names to the creatures for the first time.

After seeing Banier’s portraits I remove the gauze from my eyes but I don’t see the light. I don’t have the visions of a man who has been healed. I can’t rub my eyes and say with the blind Bethsaida, who was healed by the spit of Jesus, “I see men as trees, walking” (Mark 8, 24). His new diopters climb aboard reality and elevate it from the Earth.

Not mine: out of the catalogue, out of the exhibit, I am surrounded, in useless color, by the same disfigured world as Banier’s.

Translation by Michael F. Moore

Against the wall

by Erri De Luca


This text was written by Patrice Chéreau, published by Steidl on the occasion of the release of the exhibition catalog Perdre la tête which took place at the Académie de France in Rome, Villa Medici, from the 26th of October 2005 until the 9th of January 2006.


Photo: Erri De Luca by François-Marie Banier

Contre le mur - François-Marie Banier

Parfois, je mets sur mes yeux des compresses imbibées de camomille pour calmer une brûlure. Sous mes paupières glissent des initiales de lettres, des visages, des pays, des vers de poètes absents, des profils de montagnes. Sous les compresses, la vue continue, comme la douleur d’un pied amputé qui s’obstine à faire mal.

Je feuillette les étapes du voyage de François-Marie Banier et je retrouve le même paysage de visions, mais libérées du bandeau et déposées sur la pellicule.

Pieter Bruegel, peintre flamand injustement surnommé « le Vieux » (il mourut à 44 ans), tenait à écrire en marge de ses dessins : « Naer het leven », proche de la vie. Il revendiquait ainsi la dette qu’il avait avec la réalité. Il considérait la peinture comme une forme de la loyauté.

Les temps qui ont suivi le 20e siècle sont pour moi des prolongations. Le siècle auquel j’ai appartenu s’est conclu par les bombardements sur Belgrade et les autres villes de la Yougoslavie. C’était le retour à une guerre de colin-maillard sur la vie civile pour fracasser, maisons, ponts, théâtres, écoles, trains, ampoules et nuits d’un peuple d’Europe. Depuis ce dernier rideau tiré sur le balcon final du 20e siècle, j’ai cessé de croire qu’une réalité existe, qu’elle ait une consistance. Ce que j’ai vu, durant les nuits de mai 99, du haut d’une fenêtre du dernier étage de l’hôtel Moskva à Belgrade, a accordé une octave supérieure à mes fibres optiques. On ne peut rien reproduire de réel, seule la bestialité est assez suggestive et visionnaire. J’ai besoin de compresses à la camomille pour voir, et je vois passer des photogrammes pris d’angles étroits, acides, aigus. Une fente d’œil se tient derrière un viseur et déforme la cible, la facette, l’isole du reste.

Je parcours les étapes où s’est arrêté François-Marie Banier et je sais que je me trouve dans une époque qui s’est donnée pour constitution d’être déloyale avec le réel, de l’accuser ou de l’absoudre sans le regarder en face. On fait la guerre pour le pétrole en Irak, mais c’est une mission de paix, et la nation la plus libre du monde réintroduit systématiquement la torture et la détention illégale d’ennemis politiques : Guantanamo, Baghram, Abu Ghraib. Il existe une presse dans le monde qui avale et publie toutes les versions officielles sans les vérifier, comme s’il s’agissait de bulletins météo.

Le scrupule de Brueghel, « naer het leven », est aboli. Pour moi, les déclics de François-Marie Banier sont comme des déclics nerveux, sursauts d’un regard irritable, tics de contraction des faisceaux musculaires de l’œil humain, le dernier à savoir ce qui se passe. (Une avalanche est perçue par l’ouïe, la foudre est ressentie à temps par les poils, par les cheveux, le froid par la pointe de la langue et une femme dans le dos par le nez.)

Pour moi, ces déclics sont comme une crampe, aussi ne suis-je pas gêné par l’encre, l’écriture sur l’image, qui à d’autres moments m’auraient poussé à déchirer la photo. J’aurais pu en effet trouver illisible le texte ou l’image. Maintenant je sais que la ligne qui défile est un sous-titre et qu’elle ne sert pas de didascalie, mais d’insulte ; elle répand une lèpre écrite à la main qui fait une dépression sur le papier, comme un ulcère sur la peau.

Aucun article du livre du Lévitique/Vayikra ne fixe des rites purificatoires de la plaie d’une écriture qui n’éclaire pas mais qui efface. Dans certaines figures de ces apparitions, l’encre de la plume est au stade final de l’évolution de la lèpre et elle détache des membres du corps.

Banier a voulu se pencher sur des villes archivues, Rio, New York, avec la seule présomption, alliée de l’humilité, de celui qui décide de montrer un point géographique jamais repéré jusque-là. S’il n’est pas une sorte de Christophe Colomb ou de Magellan, qui s’offrent la primeur d’atteindre un lieu hors des cartes, le photographe est un doubleur.

Tout comme un écrivain, il doit être un petit bout d’Adam qui met pour la première fois des noms sur les créatures.

Après les portraits de Banier, je retire les compresses de mes yeux, mais je ne revois pas la lumière. Je n’ai pas de visions d’après guérison, je ne peux pas frotter mes orbites et dire comme l’aveugle de Bethsaïde, guéri par le crachat de Jésus : « Je vois les hommes, ce sont des arbres qui marchent » (Marc, 8, 24). Ses nouvelles dioptries vont à l’abordage de la réalité et la détachent de terre.

Pas les miennes : hors du catalogue, hors de l’exposition, il y a autour de moi, inutilement en couleur, le même monde défiguré que celui de Banier.

Traduit par Danièle Valin

Contre le mur

par Erri De Luca


Ce texte a été écrit par Erri De Luca, publié chez Steidl à l’occasion de la sortie du catalogue de l’exposition Perdre la tête qui a eu lieu à l’Académie de France à Rome, Villa Médicis du 26 octobre 2005 au 9 janvier 2006.


Photo: Erri De Luca par François-Marie Banier