Wounded - François-Marie Banier

It should be possible to make a film based on François-Marie’s photos. We’d use the same people as he does, we’d set them to work, we’d frame them in the same way, just like in the movies, and the viewer would always be wondering what’s going on just out of the shot. But a film like that would be impossible to make, because we’d need his special skill, his tender and affectionate boorishness, his apparent insensitivity towards the people he photographs. His photos are like him: tough they may be, but they always reflect a spirit that is childlike, profound, quick-tempered and rebellious. Though angry at the world, they love it like crazy. They love looking at the world and all the people – all the bodies – that can be encountered in it. They have such energy, and there’s a sense of refusal to give in. Even in decrepitude, old age is vibrant and full of life.

He pictures bodies, and thus deformities: François-Marie seldom portrays beauty, or even simply youthful flesh. Instead he prefers old women who have lost their minds or who twist around in nightdresses to reveal the hidden side of their own armchairs; deep creases in the skin; puffy faces; behaviour that is close to madness – and in which we can recognize ourselves. His subjects sometimes rebel, sticking their tongue out at the photographer, making mute, threatening gestures, calling out when we miss something, like passers-by at the lycée Montaigne no longer paying attention to the down-and-out sleeping on the air vent.

Depending on the subject he is dealing with, François-Marie is never quite the same person, but this is because he is always saying something about himself when he photographs others, so sometimes he wants to say it very loud and he writes over the landscape and over young bodies – but never over the old people he so often photographs. They alone are spared the ordeal of scriptural obliteration.

He has incredible vitality, and looks for signs of that same vitality in others. He seeks it out and finds it, even in the landscapes he writes over meticulously or frantically, using splashes of paint to mark his own photos. He seeks out his own vitality, his own despair – which is also ever-present – and the eternal youth he knows very well does not exist. In the meantime he preaches through accumulation, eagerly stockpiling books, photos, books on photography, his fervour leading him to make larger and larger prints with more and more writing, more and more painting, as if engaged in an ongoing struggle, in hand-to-hand combat.

His work is not just about the photos he takes, but also the photos he writes on, and those he paints: it’s about the manic energy with which he overwrites his own pictures, the meticulous care with which he follows the outline of some Tuscan hilltops, deciphers a cloud in the sky, rewrites the entire Eiffel tower (a mammoth task), looks at the greenery in the Luxembourg Gardens where words take root in the shade of the chestnut trees, and gives a name to the profusion of chairs under a curtain opening onto St Mark’s Square. We can only feel stunned when we look at this work that is not intellectual but spontaneous and in-your-face, this way of capturing a form of directness that seems to come from another place, these moments of incredible intimacy. Is his eye more critical, harsher, more serious than ours? How can we define the way he blends humour with a fierce, frenetic appetite for seeing?

Maybe what he is trying to share with us is a form of pain. Perhaps he is all too familiar with the sadness and misfortune he photographs – he probably recognizes it at least, sometimes aggressively. It’s as if his subjects are his demons, as if he makes them his own by photographing them, the better to know them, to tame them, to give meaning to his life and theirs. Perhaps when he photographs them, François-Marie is looking for a wound, his own wound: a source of pain that hounds him and that he is still unable to describe. And perhaps he will stop seeking out and photographing this pain when he has succeeded in looking it in squarely in the face.

In one picture, there’s a little girl behind Ray Charles looking at him with an amazed expression, and we only have to look at her to understand how profound and generous François-Marie’s work really is.

Wounded

by Patrice Chéreau


This text was written by Patrice Chéreau, published by Steidl on the occasion of the release of the exhibition catalog Perdre la tête which took place at the Académie de France in Rome, Villa Medici, from the 26th of October 2005 until the 9th of January 2006.

 

 


Photo: Patrice Chéreau by François-Marie Banier

Blessure - François-Marie Banier

Il faudrait pouvoir faire un film à partir des photos de François-Marie, on reprendrait les mêmes personnes que celles qu’il photographie, on les ferait travailler, on cadrerait comme lui, un peu comme au cinéma dans le fond, des plans où on aurait toujours un peu envie de savoir ce qu’il y a à côté. Mais ce serait un film impossible, car il faudrait avoir son aplomb, sa muflerie, son apparente insensibilité face aux êtres qu’il photographie. Une muflerie tendre et affectueuse pourtant : ses photos lui ressemblent, dures sans doute, mais venant toutes d’un esprit enfantin et profond, colérique et révolté. Elles s’énervent de voir le monde tel qu’il est mais elles l’aiment follement. Elles aiment regarder ce monde et les êtres – tous les corps – qu’on y croise. Et elles sont énergiques. Il y a là comme un refus de capituler : même dans la déchéance, la vieillesse est énergique et vivace.

Les corps. Donc les difformités. Rarement la beauté chez François-Marie ou simplement des chairs plus jeunes, non, ce sont plutôt des vieilles femmes qui ont perdu leur tête ou qui se contorsionnent en chemise de nuit pour découvrir la face cachée de leur propre fauteuil. Des replis de la peau, des boursouflures. Des comportements proches de la folie – et qui nous ressemblent. Des sujets qui se rebiffent aussi parfois : on tire la langue au photographe, on lui fait des gestes de menace dans une langue muette, on l’interpelle alors que nous n’avions rien vu, nous qui étions comme les passants du lycée Montaigne qui ne regardent même plus le clochard sur sa bouche de chaleur.

Suivant le sujet dont il s’occupe, François-Marie n’est jamais tout à fait le même, mais c’est parce qu’il nous dit toujours quelque chose de lui en photographiant les autres, alors parfois il veut nous le dire très fort, et il écrit sur les paysages et sur les corps jeunes – jamais sur les vieillards qu’il photographie pourtant si souvent et à qui il épargne cette épreuve de l’oblitération par l’écriture à quoi personne ne réchappe normalement.

Quelle vitalité incroyable chez lui : est-ce qu’il ne cherche pas des traces de cette vitalité chez les autres ? D’ailleurs, il la débusque et la retrouve, y compris dans tous ces paysages qu’il réécrit minutieusement ou rageusement, dans ces éclaboussures de peinture dont il balafre ses propres photos : à la recherche de sa propre vitalité, de son désespoir – très actif lui aussi -, de cette jeunesse éternelle dont il sait bien qu’elle n’existe pas. En attendant, il prêche par accumulation, accumulation des livres et des photos, des livres de photo, boulimie qui va jusqu’à lui faire faire des clichés de plus en plus grands, avec un peu plus d’écritures encore, encore plus de peintures, comme dans un combat, un corps à corps.

Parce qu’il faut parler des photos qu’il fait, mais aussi des photos sur lesquelles il écrit, et de celles qu’il peint : de cette énergie maniaque à raturer ses propres images, de la minutie à suivre obstinément quelques lignes de crête en Toscane, à déchiffrer un nuage dans le ciel, à réécrire la tour Eiffel tout entière – travail de titan -, à regarder les arbres du Luxembourg où les mots ne poussent qu’à l’ombre des marronniers et donner un nom à la profusion des chaises sous le rideau qui s’ouvre sur la place Saint-Marc. Un vertige nous prend forcément quand on regarde toute cette œuvre qui n’est pas intellectuelle mais spontanée et comme jetée, comme ça, en pâture, devant cette façon de capter un naturel qui viendrait d’ailleurs, de nous faire voir des moments d’incroyable intimité : son œil est-il plus critique, plus dur, plus grave que d’autres ? Qu’est-ce que cet humour, mélangé à cet appétit féroce du regard, cette frénésie ?

Peut-être que ce qu’il cherche à nous dire, à nous montrer, c’est une blessure. Peut-être que ce malheur qu’il photographie, cette disgrâce parfois, il les connaît – trop bien peut-être – et probablement il les reconnaît. Agressivement parfois : les gens qu’il photographie sont comme ses démons, il se les approprie en les fixant pour mieux les connaître et les apprivoiser, pour donner un sens à sa vie et à la leur. Peut-être qu’en photographiant, François-Marie ne fait-il que chercher une blessure, la sienne, celle qui le talonne et qu’il n’arrive toujours pas à décrire. Et cette blessure, peut-être s’arrêtera-t-il de la chercher et de la photographier quand il aura réussi à la regarder en face ?

Et puis, derrière Ray Charles, il y a une petite fille qui le regarde, ébahie, et qui nous dit à quel point il y a dans tout cela de la profondeur et de la générosité : une œuvre.

Blessure

par Patrice Chéreau


Ce texte a été écrit par Patrice Chéreau, publié chez Steidl à l’occasion de la sortie du catalogue de l’exposition Perdre la tête qui a eu lieu à l’Académie de France à Rome, Villa Médicis du 26 octobre 2005 au 9 janvier 2006.


Photo: Patrice Chéreau par François-Marie Banier