François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier

François-Marie Banier

This publication was released on the occasion of the exhibition François-Marie Banier at Maison Européenne de la Photographie in Paris from the 26th of March until the 15th of June 2003.


A Free Spirit

The morning Banier and I went round his exhibition at the La Recoleta cultural centre in Buenos Aires, I felt the same sensation as I did the day I first met him, and that came back to me on the occasion of our subsequent conversations. As André Gide used to say, it is easy to break free; it is knowing how to be free that is hard. Looking at Banier’s paintings and photographs, I was sure that I had before me the work of a mind of the greatest originality, that originality particular to free souls. He is an artist who is absolutely alien to all the schematisations that end up forming new schools and new “isms”. If there is one thing that really doesn’t interest him, it is finishing up like all those “integrated” artists who throng the academies. On the contrary, Banier evinces a tension and a dynamism such that he could never be listed within the narrow margins of an aesthetic conception. His expressive force comes straight from the guts, without passing through the crucible of thought. He is a man with a faculty for forming sincere friendships from the first moment you meet him – which inclines you to think that this particular encounter had been waiting for you somewhere in the twists and turns of destiny. He has an extraordinary vitality and an overflowing joy which he communicates to those around him. Sometimes he gives the impression of being one of those clowns in whom, at certain moments, one glimpses an underlying melancholy. […]

Excerpt from the text A Free Spirit by Ernesto Sabato

 

François-Marie Banier’s Photographic Novel

“The truth of life lies in observation and memory, otherwise it merely passes us by.”
Marcel Proust

François-Marie Banier’s photographic novel begins with the passers-by he sees in the street, whom he calls “my crossers.” Among these walking women whom he observes with genuine amazement, we could distinguish the twin sisters in the Luxembourg Gardens, walking in step, arm in arm. They were among his first models. He portrayed them with his Minox in 1979, 1980 and 1981, left them, found them again then lost track of them. Later, he was moved to write this heartfelt appeal directly on the surface of one of his prints: “They lost me. Where is your haunt now? Please, get in touch.” […]

Excerpt from the text François-Marie Banier’s Photographic Novel by Patrick Roegiers

 

The Eternal Other

“I love life. I love to plunge into the depths of all living beings; but I loathe that compulsive, hostile ‘you must’ which holds me captive, tries to force me to lead a life that is not for me – a base, functional, useful life without Art.”
Egon Schiele

The works of a life, taken in the midst of life, speaking about life – what the photographs of François-Marie Banier express is by turns – or sometimes all at once – the sublime and the ridiculous, burlesque, tragedy, irony, joy and melancholy, passing time and time to come. As he writes, “Faces, walks, ways of being, couples and solitudes are poems, manifestos. The photographer is their publisher.” Banier disappears behind his models. Photography for him is very much a personal matter, but he never says “I.” His portraits are both human visions and proofs of love, worlds of emotion, stories told by a novelist fascinated by his characters’ secrets. What matters, what moves him, is a person’s deep self, and these forms that he finds in the silhouettes and faces that inspire him. […]

Excerpt from the text The Eternal other by Martin d’Orgeval

 

People

Suddenly, in the street, a form rises up before me, a face appears that I have never seen before and that speaks to me. The way their foot strikes out to move forward sets a whole narrative in motion (the novel each one of us drafts every day). […]

Excerpt from the text People by François-Marie Banier

 

Madeleine Castaing

I had known Madeleine Castaing since I was a child. I knew just about everything there was to know about her legendary love for Marcellin, her husband, and her incredible gifts as a decorator and her fascinating relationship with Soutine, and the book she spent her life reading: A la recherche du temps perdu, which she first opened in 1913. […]

Excerpt from the text Madeleine Castaing by François-Marie Banier

 

Silvana Mangano

Silvana Mangano, her black eyes, that never-ending nose, that cruel beauty – how to capture that astral presence? How to show her without betraying her depth and her elegance? Like the ocean, like the pyramids, like the moon reflected in the waters of a mountain stream, Silvana Mangano is beyond words. […]

Excerpt from the text Silvana Mangano by François-Marie Banier

 

Vladimir Horowitz

I never thought I would photograph Horowitz. Neither so close, nor for so long. He couldn’t bear people coming near him. If you ventured to do so, he would reply either with a bark or with one of his pet phrases: “That’s none of my business”, or “I don’t care.” […]

Excerpt from the text Vladimir Horowitz by François-Marie Banier

Yves Saint-Laurent

It was to Yves Saint Laurent, my brother of the 1970s, that I showed my first photographs of solitary strangers. He himself lived a very reclusive life, wrapped up in his work and his desire to leave an œuvre. […]

Excerpt from the text Yves Saint-Laurent by François-Marie Banier

 

Marie Laure de Noailles

I became a photographer in 1968, as a way of keeping Marie Laure. So that I would never lose her. […]

Excerpt from the text Marie Laure de Noailles by François-Marie Banier

 

Written and painted photos

I started by writing on my photographs, encouraged by certain masses of white and black that I found inside other forms and that suddenly had something to say. With my pen and then my brush I entered into the photographs, which have their own life, and I continued. […]

Excerpt from the text Written and painted photos by François-Marie Banier

 

Man with Rat

Why not, while I’m at it, in this exhibition that I wanted so badly, because it represents all those encounters I had with strangers. […]

Excerpt from the text Man with Rat by François-Marie Banier

 

The life of photography

Who is a photographer? Any high-wire artist without a wire, any conductor without an orchestra, any realistic dreamer with a bit of persistence who, whether confusedly or not, has the feeling, the courage – it only takes a slight movement of the index finger – to stop the world. He blocks it, wedges it, lays it out. For good. Makes it solid. That is where the work of art begins: when it’s over. When the photo has been taken, printed, chosen. Sold, I might say. […]

Excerpt from the text The life of photography by François-Marie Banier

Gallimard, Paris

2003
343 pages
b&w and color illustrations
33 cm
French

ISBN 2-07-011754-5 (br.)

ISBN 2-07-011765-0 (relié)

This book is also available in French version from the same publisher.


Buy the book

Exhibition views

François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier

François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier

François-Marie Banier

Ce catalogue a été publié à l’occasion de l’exposition François-Marie Banier à la Maison Européenne de la Photographie à Paris du 26 mars au 15 juin 2003.


Un être Libre

à Buenos Aires, le matin où j’ai parcouru, aux côtés de Banier, son exposition au Centre Culturel de La Recoleta, j’ai éprouvé la même sensation que le jour où j’ai fait sa connaissance, qui s’est reproduite ensuite lors de nos conversations successives. Comme disait André Gide, savoir se libérer n’est rien, c’est savoir être libre qui est ardu. En observant les tableaux et les photographies de Banier, j’étais persuadé de me trouver devant l’œuvre d’un esprit de la plus grande originalité, celle qui est propre aux êtres libres. Il est un artiste étranger à toutes ces schématisations qui finissent par former de nouvelles écoles et de nouveaux «ismes». S’il y a quelque chose qui ne l’intéresse pas du tout, c’est bien de finir comme ces artistes «intégrés» qui pullulent dans les académies. Au contraire, Banier témoigne d’une tension et d’un dynamisme tels qu’il ne pourra jamais être indexé dans les étroites marges d’une conception esthétique. S’il y a quelque chose qui nous rapproche, c’est l’importance qu’il donne à l’intuition, par-delà l’intellect pur. Sa force d’expression provient de ses entrailles sans passer préalablement par le crible de la pensée. C’est un homme qui a la faculté de nouer une amitié sincère dès les premiers instants où nous le connaissons; ce qui incite à penser que cette rencontre-là nous avait été réservée dans un des détours du destin. Il possède une extraordinaire vitalité et une joie démesurée qui se propagent à ce qui l’entoure. Quelquefois, il donne l’impression d’être un de ces clowns chez qui, par instants, on aperçoit un fond de mélancolie. […]

Extrait du texte Un être libre d’Ernesto Sabato

 

Le roman photographique de François-Marie Banier

« La vérité de la vie est dans l’observation et la mémoire sinon elle ne fait que passer. »
Marcel Proust

Le roman photographique de François-Marie Banier débute par la rencontre, dans la rue, des passantes qu’il nomme «mes traverseuses». En tête de ces promeneuses qu’il regarde étonné, il y a lieu de distinguer les jumelles du Jardin du Luxembourg, un de ses premiers modèles, allant d’un même pas, bras dessus bras dessous, qu’il portraiture au Minox en 1979, 1980, 1981, quitte, retrouve, puis perd de vue si bien qu’il leur lance plus tard, par écrit, à même la peau du tirage, un appel vibrant : «Elles m’ont semé. Quel quartier hantez-vous? Je vous en supplie : faites-moi signe.» […]

Extrait du texte Le roman Photographique par Patrick Roegiers

 

L’autre éternel

« J’aime la vie. J’aime à m’immerger dans les profondeurs de tous les êtres vivants; mais j’abhorre ce «tu dois» compulsif, hostile, qui me tient captif, veut me contraindre à mener une vie qui n’est pas la mienne, une vie basse, fonctionnelle, utile, sans Art. »
Egon Schiele

Œuvres d’une vie, prises dans la vie, parlant de la vie, les photographies de François-Marie Banier expriment tour à tour, ou quelquefois mêlés, le sublime, le dérisoire, le burlesque, le tragique, l’ironie, la joie, la mélancolie, le temps qui passe, le temps qui vient. «Visages, démarches, allures, couples, solitudes, sont poèmes, manifestes, écrit-il. Le photographe les publie.» S’effaçant devant ses modèles, Banier fait de la photographie une histoire personnelle sans jamais dire «je». Déclinaisons de pures visions tout autant que preuves d’amour, ses portraits sont sommes d’émotions, d’histoires qu’il raconte en romancier épris du secret de ses personnages. Lui importent et l’emportent l’identité profonde de l’être, comme les formes qu’il révèle à partir des silhouettes et des visages qui l’inspirent. […]

Extrait du texte L’autre éternel de Martin d’Orgeval

 

Les gens

Tout à coup, dans la rue, se dresse devant moi une forme, surgit un visage parfaitement inconnu. Et qui me parle. Par la façon dont s’engage le pied pour continuer son chemin c’est toute une histoire qui s’avance, c’est le roman que chacun ébauche chaque jour. […]

Extrait du texte Les gens de François-Marie Banier

 

Madeleine Castaing

Je connaissais Madeleine Castaing depuis mon enfance, et tout, ou à peu près, de son légendaire amour pour Marcellin, son mari, son fantastique don de décoratrice, sa passionnante relation avec Soutine, sa vie passée à lire À la recherche du temps perdu, qu’elle découvrit la première fois en 1913. […]

Extrait du texte Madeleine Castaing de François-Marie Banier

 

Silvana Mangano

Silvana Mangano, ses yeux noirs, son nez infini, cette cruelle beauté, comment faire passer cet astre? Comment la montrer sans trahir sa profondeur et son élégance? Comme l’océan, comme les pyramides, comme le reflet de la lune sur l’eau d’un ruisseau de montagne, Silvana Mangano ne se raconte pas. […]

Extrait du texte Silvana Mangano de François-Marie Banier

 

Vladimir Horowitz

Je ne pensais pas que je photographierais Horowitz. Ni de si près, ni si longtemps. Il ne supportait pas que quiconque l’approche. A qui s’y risquait, il répondait par un aboiement, ou par l’un de ses deux leitmotive : «Ce n’est pas mon affaire » ou «Ça m’est égal ». […]

Extrait du texte Vladimir Horowitz de François-Marie Banier

 

Yves Saint-Laurent

C’est à Yves Saint Laurent, mon frère des années 1970, que je montre mes premières photographies de solitaires. Lui-même vit de façon retirée, pris par son métier et son désir de laisser une œuvre. […]

Extrait du texte Yves Saint-Laurent de François-Marie Banier

 

Marie Laure de Noailles

C’est en 1968, pour garder Marie Laure, que je suis devenu photographe. Pour ne jamais la perdre. […]

Extrait du texte Marie Laure de Noailles de François-Marie Banier

 

Photos écrites et peintes

J’ai d’abord écrit sur mes photographies. Entraîné par certaines masses de blanc ou de noir trouvées à l’intérieur d’autres formes qui soudain avaient quelque chose à dire. Je suis entré avec ma plume puis mon pinceau dans la photo qui a sa vie, et j’ai poursuivi. […]

Extrait du texte Photos écrites et peintes de François-Marie Banier

 

L’Homme au rat

Et pourquoi n’en profiterais-je pas, du détour de cette exposition tant voulue, pour ce qu’elle représente de rencontres avec tant d’inconnu. […]

Extrait du texte L’Homme au rat de François-Marie Banier

 

La vie de la photo

Qui est photographe? Tout équilibriste sans fil, tout chef d’orchestre sans orchestre, tout rêveur réaliste plus ou moins entêté qui a le sentiment, le courage, il suffit d’une très faible action de l’index, d’arrêter l’univers. Il le bloque, le cale, l’étale. Il se solidifie. C’est là que commence l’œuvre d’art : quand c’est fini. La photo prise, tirée, choisie, je dirais vendue. […]

Extrait du texte La vie de la photo de François-Marie Banier

 

Gallimard, Paris

2003
343 pages
Illustrations n&b et couleur
33 cm
Français

ISBN 2-07-011754-5 (br.)

ISBN 2-07-011765-0 (relié)

Ce livre existe également en version anglaise chez le même éditeur.


Acheter le livre

Vues d'exposition

François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier