François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier

François-Marie Banier

This catalogue was released on the occasion of François-Marie Banier’s exhibition at the Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography and Metropolitan Foundation for History and Culture in Tokyo, organized by Asahi Shimbun from the 9th of September until the 8th of October 2000.


Just-intonation on film

I do know, of course, that Banier is a photographer. Yet unlike other photographers, I am somehow unable to imagine him pointing a camera at his subjects. Even though I have stood beside him as he held his camera, I forget that the device that he holds before his eye is a mass produced technology. Rather it begins to appear to me as though it were some kind of curious musical instrument of his own handicraft.

Excerpt from the text Just-intonation on film by Shinichi Nakazawa

 

A Free Spirit

The morning Banier and I went round his exhibition at the La Recoleta cultural centre in Buenos Aires, I felt the same sensation as I did the day I first met him, and that came back to me on the occasion of our subsequent conversations. As André Gide used to say, it is easy to break free; it is knowing how to be free that is hard.

Extract from the text A Free Spirit by Ernesto Sabato

 

A Modern Classic

“Children born at night have birthdays just like everyone else.” Francis Picabia

Sincerity is the base on which, for nearly thirty years now, François-Marie Banier has been building up an admirable and singular body of work, far from the established schools and movements. Like Eugène Atget, E.J. Bellocq and Jacques-Henri Lartigue, he has long worked in solitude, in the shadows, neither seeking nor caring to show his photographs, taking them for himself alone and alternating with equal felicity between a fascination with great artists and compassionate interest in ordinary people. […]

Extract from the text A Modern Classic by Patrick Roegiers

Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography, Tokyo Metropolitan Foundation for History and Culture, Tokyo

2000

b&w and color illustrations
34 cm
French, english, japanese





Exhibition views

François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier

François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier

François-Marie Banier

Ce catalogue à été publié à l’occasion de l’exposition François-Marie Banier au Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography et Metropolitan Foundation for History and Culture à Tokyo, organisée par Asahi Shimbun du 9 septembre au 8 octobre 2000.


Les tempéraments naturels dans la photographie

J’ai beau savoir que Banier est photographe, curieusement, je ne parviens pas à me le représenter braquant son appareil sur l’objet à photographier comme le font les autres. Il m’est pourtant arrivé de me trouver à ses côtés alors qu’il avait son appareil en main, mais j’ai toujours oublié que le dispositif placé à la hauteur de ses yeux était un produit de la technologie contemporaine pour y voir une sorte d’instrument de musique étrange qu’il aurait confectionné de ses mains.

Extrait du texte Les tempéraments naturels dans la photographie par Shinichi Nakazawa

 

Un être Libre

à Buenos Aires, le matin où j’ai parcouru, aux côtés de Banier, son exposition au Centre Culturel de La Recoleta, j’ai éprouvé la même sensation que le jour où j’ai fait sa connaissance, qui s’est reproduite ensuite lors de nos conversations successives. Comme disait André Gide, savoir se libérer n’est rien, c’est savoir être libre qui est ardu. […]

Extrait du texte Un être libre d’Ernesto Sabato

 

Un classique de la modernité

« Les enfants qui naissent la nuit voient le jour comme les autres. » Francis PICABIA

C’est sur le socle de la sincérité que s’érige depuis bientôt trente ans, hors des écoles et des tendances admises, l’oeuvre admirable et singulière de François-Marie Banier qui comme Eugène Atget, E.J. Bellocq ou Jacques-Henri Lartigue, a longtemps créé en solitaire et dans l’ombre, sans souci ni envie de montrer ses photographies, en les prenant seulement pour lui-même et en alternant avec un bonheur égal l’attrait pour les plus grands artistes et l’intérêt ému porté aux gens humbles. […]

Extrait du texte Un classique de la modernité par Patrick Roegiers

Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography, Tokyo Metropolitan Foundation for History and Culture, Tokyo

2000

Illustrations en n&b et couleur
34 cm
Français, anglais, japonais





Vues d'exposition

François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier