François-Marie Banier is a photographer and a painter, and he paints on photographs, which should scarcely surprise us at a time when many artists readily hybridise media that we thought were separate and isolated in their modernistic independence. Yet since Baudelaire, in a famous text, gave photography the ancillary function of painting’s “humble servant”, the relations between the two media and their respective positions in the academic hierarchy of the arts has been tumultuous, even antagonistic. In his essay The Work of Art in the Era of Technical Reproducibility which dates from the late 1930s, Walter Benjamin wrote that instead of wondering if photography was an art, we should study how it modified painting. François-Marie Banier seems to prefer to reverse the question; asking how painting modifies photography. Or more exactly, how a photographic print can be a surface for a graphic and pictorial interventions drawn from both the fields of painting and writing.

From early adolescence, Banier took photographs to escape from the falsity of life, from stifling conventions and the asphyxia of meaningless routines, in short, as a breath of fresh air. “The camera”, he writes, “was a window”. A window which opened on to the incongruous, on to the impertinence of the real world, on to things that are “not done”, but are done all the same; opened on to a crowd of faces, bodies and backgrounds, poses and expressions and new experiences, taken from real life to be stored away as memories.

At first sight, his production since then could be roughly divided into two groups, which fit quite well into a certain historical idea of photography over the last half century: celebrities and outcasts, as if the in-between, that is most of us, did not count in the photographer’s eyes. On one side, Kate Moss and Johnny Depp, Isabelle Adjani and François Mitterrand, Françoise Sagan and Vladimir Horowitz; on the other, the nameless, the anonymous, the poverty-stricken and the destitute, beggars and tramps, living in the streets and lurking in doorways, scouring the rubbish bins and refuse heaps. High and Low, in keeping with a strict division followed by Weegee, Diane Arbus and many other admirable photographers from the last half-century. But unlike his prestigious peers, mostly American, and therefore both fascinated by celebrity and revolted by the inequalities of their society, Banier, although his father was Hungarian, was born in Paris and fits into a completely different photographic tradition which is typically French.

Henri Cartier-Bresson, whom he photographed, is no doubt a major reference here, with his theory of “the decisive moment”. However, Banier applies this magic moment, the ideal image, which Cartier-Bresson said was almost the peak of dramatic tension, to a much longer period: indeed, for a face to reveal its truth to the lens, the photographer must sometimes wait for month or even years, ready to pounce on the magic moment, the revelation of the being. What when strikes the photographer’s eye as “decisive” is sometimes the surprise of something he was no longer waiting for, the sudden eruption of the unexpected, a miracle that long familiarity with the “model” had made us despair of. Banier’s most successful portraits testify to this tenacious patience, this attentive relationship, this long-term exchange.

This is no doubt why all these faces, that we see not in black and white but as if greyed by a long association, do not make up an official portrait gallery, and even less the archive of some paparazzi or other, but almost a family album in which time has laid its strata over the photographic film, like the alluvia of anecdotes, stories, conversations and shared experiences: an intimate layer of silver salts.

As for the shots of the poverty-stricken and the destitute, the “miserable”, “nameless ones”, far from having the social or political impact of the photos of a Lewis Hine or Eugene Smith, they are part of another tradition, French as well, which goes back to Eugène Atget and Brassaï and runs right through the Surrealist movement: these photos give a discreet, allusive glimpse of the sometimes enigmatic poetry of everyday life, its uncanny nature which escapes rational analysis, a sort of romantic vision of the street, the tangible projection of the photographer-writer and therefore of the spectator. Neither can one help wondering about the tender and sometimes painful mystery of these lives which cross for a moment then vanish for ever, withdrawn into their world.

So much so that Banier could no doubt take as his own these few sentences from Nathalie Sarraute’s novel Martereau: “I do not believe in chance encounters (I am obviously talking only about those that count). We are wrong to think that we bump into people in a hit and miss way. I have always felt that we ourselves make them materialize: they appear just at the right time, as if tailor-made, on command, responding (though often we do not realise it until much later) to needs in us, to sometimes unavowed or unconscious desires.”

Nathalie Sarraute, the novelist of “nascent feelings” as she wrote in Tropismes, was photographed by Banier on several occasions. I believe she offers us a perceptive way of understanding the writing the artist puts on his photos. Anecdotes, tales, dialogues, a romantic vision—all these terms refer of course to the writing of fiction. And, for more than thirty years Banier has been writing novels, and plays…; yet he also places isolated words on his photos (“relief”, “surface”, “figure”), scraps of longer fiction (“They say any old thing”, “and if she hates me, what can I do about it?”), confidences (“I forget nothing”), proverbs and mottoes (“Daily life is a moot point”, “Avoid regrets like the plague”), extracts from letters (“My dear Yves,…”), or from diaries (“I saw her with Fidel Castro and Kate Moss”), tragic-comic anecdotes, bits of dialogue (“Please stay, Shrimpie, please”), captions (“trees”, “zone of sorrow”, “abandoned hand”, “tear fastening”), lines of poetry (“the birds had blue eyes that night”), telegraphic notes, chains of words reminiscent of the Surrealists’ automatic writing (“sleep in peace / smoke without fire”), etc., all written very freely, the letters scribbled across the photo; and various types of inscription which I would like to focus on for a moment.

Sometimes Banier fills in what could be called the bare patches of the photographic image with neat, close lettering; the writing crawls patiently around the “subject” or “subjects”, black on white or white on black, as if he were writing on a book with uneven pages (see Louis Aragon or Le canapé de Picasso). We then read an anecdote, a memory, or perhaps longish extracts from a story, a novel or correspondence, the essence of which eludes us.

Sometimes, as on the very beautiful painted photo called Lucinda Childs, short texts appear in the same bare patches, accompanied by illustrations, sketches, little caricatures, “naive” and humorous drawings which, like a picture book emptied in a heap, make up a mysterious rebus in several dimensions, written on the black areas of the photograph as if chalked on a blackboard, or like a curious etching. The photo here becomes a sketchbook which, like Delacroix’s famous notebooks, mingle essays and sketches, lettering, notes scribbled from life, but never follows the schoolbook rules of a “page of writing” which goes steadily from left to right and from top to bottom. Taking fantasy a little further, one could even consider Banier’s lettering on his photos or canvases as the work of a mischievous, rebellious child sarcastically cocking a snook at all the rules of proper writing and even spelling (ça becomes ; raté becomes râté, etc.). a deliberate desire for regression, which also shows in the “lack of application” in drawing, the “messy” painting, “unfinished” pictures, the “things not done” which, there too, are done all the same. It is a stirring challenge to the norm, the rebellious desire to stand up against faceless conventions, wherever they come from, to flout them and at the same time replace them with the whim of the moment, with the anarchic irruption of the thousands of faces we carry within us.

Sometimes, as in the 1998 Autoportrait, the writing is coloured and so uneven as to be almost illegible, talking over almost the entire photograph, masking it with its rhythms and energy. Only the eyes of the hooded figure manage to pierce the screen of crazy calligraphy, the feverish swarm of letters, strokes and blots which masks for a second time the subject of the work: that is, the artist himself. Here the value of the lettering is its plastic function; it is no longer simply carries a “message”; the writing itself conveys energy, it is the embodiment of acts, action, the instant imprint of a state of mind, of a fleeting emotional tone, “nascent feeling” as Nathalie Sarraute wrote.

In the old days, photographs used to be painted on for three clearly separate purposes: spotting, touching up and colouring. Spotting was, and still is, a way of correcting tiny defects in a print by means of a very fine paintbrush. Touching up was used to highlight some detail or other in the print. Colouring was a way of turning a black and white photo into a coloured picture by adding watercolour in large, clearly defined areas. Benier sometimes touches up his photos to accentuate a shape or correct facial features, but his intervention is always clearly visible, and legible, suggesting a compulsive transformation, an inspired metamorphosis, rather than an unobtrusive skilled alteration. And when he colours a photo, far from respecting the original shape of the image, Banier more often tries to destroy it. The effect is a desacralisation of the photographic image, a vengeful and perhaps raging iconoclasm. Rather than adorn, decorate, enhance—in a word, highlight the photographic icon with his brushes, Banier instead attacks it, as if he were wielding a knife (itself one of the artist’s tools) instead of a brush. Hence, no doubt, the curious impression we have when he look at his painted photos, as if a window pane had come between the spectator and the intact black and white print, a pane which the artist had scribbled and painted on…

In fact, except for film, photography is the plastic medium which offers the greatest illusion of reality, especially the illusion of depth and relief; but when surface effects are superimposed on it—writing in particular, which draws us back irresistibly to the flatness of the page, but also the “frontal” nature of Banier’s painting—the painting seems to come unstuck, and “to move away” from its photographic base. The effect of a pane of glass treated with whiting is nowhere more present in Banier’s work than in the large work titled Claude Lévi-Strauss. Le Brestalou, août 1998, in which the photo is almost obliterated by broad white brushstrokes. One might ponder the meaning of this effacement which substitutes mysterious, almost primitive, lettering for the image of the famous ethnologist…

Moreover, the intrusion of writing into photography leads us to a different notion of time: we were in the purely visible, with an immediate grasp of the image, and suddenly the legible takes over, imposing the implacable diachronism of its syntagmata. Suddenly the silence of photography is broken by another system of signs: language. Logorrhoea, babble, injunctions, murmurs, slogans, cries, whispered vows, burning declarations, reproaches, prayers, sorrows: all the metamorphosis of the artist’s own life in words that scratch, lacerate and slach the photographic surface, which was too smooth to be true. There too, with the effect of an enigma, an eternally unfinished fragment, writing undermines the false truths of the candid image, giving it a temporal depth it never had before. The photograph, which freezes time and takes a sample of reality, then slides towards its blurred edges, towards the areas out-of-frame, which cannot be seen but can be expressed in words. It then takes part in an account of a meeting, a sentimental tale; then moves towards the intimacy inherent in all photography, the power of which Banier has grasped while throwing us a few clues about his secrets.

“I do not believe in chance encounters”, the artist could therefore say with Nathalie Sarraute. In a premonitory way, the author of Tropismes evokes Banier’s painting of words and signs in Martereau, a novel published in 1953 (when Banier was six): “sorts of very rapid signs containing all that, summing it up—like a brief formula which caps a long algebraic reasoning, which expresses a series of complicated chemical combinations—such briefs signs which slip into him, into me, so quickly that I could never manage to understand them, to grasp them. I can only find snatches and translate clumsily into words what these signs represent, fleeting impressions, thoughts, feelings often forgotten which have piled up over the years and are now drawn up like a huge powerful army behind its banners, regrouping, starting to march, about to surge forward…”

For there is certainly a surge in this raw, sometimes brutal painting made of “fleeting impressions” and “nascent feelings”, ephemeral “tropisms” where it would be vain to seek the least rational order, the least logical continuity apart from the sovereign urging of the subconscious. It is rather about painting with neither beginning nor end, submerged in a private, autobiographical world, entirely absorbed in the act of recording itself, by the present moment in its execution, the instant of its accomplishment and, equally, the inscription, obviously much later, of scraps of text. It is painting without second thoughts, or “repentance”—either pictorial or religious—subjected to the sincerity of the act, to the force of emotion, to the dictates of impulse. Is it medium paintings? No doubt, because the artist is here the oracle of his private world, a clairvoyant seeking hidden truths, a compass drawn by the magnetic fields of his subconscious.

And among these magnets whose coloured forms come to light or, better still, cling to the canvas like iron shavings, are the crowds of faces drawn rather than painted, sketched rather than drawn, so fast that they become funny, ghostly figures, like sleepwalkers, sometimes in enigmatic clusters, turning their great questioning eyes on the spectator like carnival masks, hooded men, troubling spectres, pallid-faced ghouls, voodoo dolls or African effigies: is the picture really the house of happiness, and are these sprites staring at us because they have just noticed us, and our unhappiness?

“I do not know the rules of painting, but who knows the true measure of sorrow?” Banier asks. So for him, the picture is a “repair area”—words written vertically on a recent painting—a place for repairing the damage of time and inner wounds, an arena for the ephemeral, a trap to catch the fleeting image, the fugitive’s collar grasped in extremis, an enclosure for lost time which can no longer flee, but is caught, stuck down, frozen in this pictorial remembrance, the essence of which is, quite clearly, photographic.

 

Translation: Isabel Ollivier

Painting with neither beginning nor end

by Brice Matthieussent


This interview was conduced by Brice Matthieussent on the occasion of the release of the exhibition catalog Fotos y pinturas which took place at Centro Cultural Recoleta in Buenos Aires from the 17th of april until the 21th of may 2000.

François-Marie Banier pratique à la fois la photographie et la peinture, ainsi que la peinture sur photographie, ce qui ne devrait guère nous étonner en cette période où maints artistes hybrident volontiers des médiums qu’on croyait jusque-là séparés, isolés dans leur autonomie moderniste ; néanmoins, depuis que Baudelaire, dans un texte célèbre, assigna à la photographie la fonction ancillaire d’ « humble servante » de la peinture, les rapports entre ces deux médiums et leurs positions respectives dans la hiérarchie académique des arts n’ont cessé d’être tumultueux, voire conflictuels. Walter Benjamin, dans son essai sur L’Œuvre d’art à l’ère de la reproductibilité technique, qui date de la fin des années 30, écrivait que, plutôt que de se demander si la photographie était un art, mieux valait étudier en quoi elle modifiait la peinture. Il semblerait que François-Marie Banier préfère inverser les termes de cette dernière question pour se demander en quoi la peinture modifie la photographie. Ou bien, plus précisément, comment le tirage photographique peut devenir surface d’inscription pour des interventions graphiques ou picturales relevant à la fois du champ de la peinture et de la pratique de l’écriture.

 

Au début, dès l’adolescence, Banier photographie pour échapper à la fausseté de l’existence, aux conventions étouffantes, à l’asphyxie des habitudes vides de sens, bref par besoin d’oxygène : « L’appareil de photographie, écrit-il, était cette fenêtre. » Ouverte sur l’incongru, sur les impertinences du réel, ouverte sur le « ça ne se fait pas » qui se fait quand même, ouverte sur une foule de visages, de corps et de décors, de poses et d’expressions et d’expériences nouvelles, à saisir sur le vif pour en conserver le souvenir.

À première vue, on pourrait diviser grossièrement les images réalisées depuis lors en deux catégories, qui correspondent bien à un certain usage historique de la photographie depuis environ un demi-siècle : les célébrités et les laissés-pour-compte, comme si l’entre-deux, soit la majorité d’entre nous, ne comptait pour rien aux yeux du photographe. D’un côté, Kate Moss et Johnny Depp, Isabelle Adjani et François Mitterrand, Françoise Sagan et Vladimir Horowitz ; de l’autre, les sans-noms, les anonymes, gueux et miséreux, mendiants et clochards, habitants des rues et des pas-de-porte louches, écumeurs de poubelles et de tas d’ordures. High and Low, conformément à une division stricte qu’ont respectée Weegee, Diane Arbus et tant d’autres photographes admirables du demi-siècle passé. Mais à la différence de ses pairs prestigieux, pour la plupart américains et donc à la fois fascinés par la célébrité et révoltés par les inégalités de leur société, Banier, bien que de père hongrois, est né à Paris et il s’inscrit dans une tradition photographique radicalement autre et, pour tout dire, typiquement française.

Henri Cartier-Bresson, qu’il a photographié, constitue sans doute ici une référence majeure, avec sa théorie de l’« instant décisif ». Néanmoins, cet instant magique, qui est celui de l’instantané photographique idéal et qui correspond selon Cartier-Bresson à une montée presque maximale de la tension dramatique, Banier l’applique à une attente infiniment plus longue : en effet, pour qu’un visage révèle à l’objectif une large part de sa vérité, il faut parfois attendre, guetter cet instant magique, cette révélation de l’être, pendant plusieurs mois, voire plusieurs années. Ce qui frappe alors l’œil du photographe comme « décisif », c’est parfois la surprise de ce qu’on n’attendait plus, l’irruption soudaine d’un imprévu, un miracle que la longue fréquentation du « modèle » nous avait appris à ne plus espérer. Les portraits les plus réussis de Banier témoignent de cette patience tenace, de ce commerce attentif, de ce don et de cet échange au long cours.

Voilà sans doute pourquoi tous ces visages, que l’on découvre non pas en noir et blanc, mais comme grisés par une longue connivence, ne composent certes pas une galerie de portraits plus ou moins officiels, encore moins les archives d’un quelconque paparazzi, mais presque un album de famille où le temps a déposé ses strates sur la pellicule photographique, comme des alluvions d’anecdotes, de récits, de conversations, d’expériences sensibles partagées : une intimité de sels d’argent.

Quant aux images des gueux et des miséreux, des « pauvres gens » et des « sans-nom », loin d’avoir l’impact social ou politique des photographies d’un Lewis Hine ou d’un Eugene Smith, elles s’inscrivent dans une tradition, elle aussi française, qui remonte à Eugène Atget et à Brassaï et qui traverse tout le mouvement surréaliste : ces images montrent discrètement, allusivement, la poésie parfois énigmatique du quotidien, son inquiétante étrangeté irréductible à toute analyse rationnelle, une sorte de vision romanesque de la rue, la projection tangible du photographe-écrivain et donc ensuite du spectateur, tous deux incapables de ne pas s’interroger sur le tendre et parfois douloureux mystère de ces existences croisées l’espace d’un instant et désormais disparues, rendues à leur monde.

Tant et si bien que Banier pourrait sans doute reprendre à son compte ces quelques phrases tirées de Martereau, le roman de Nathalie Sarraute : « Je ne crois pas aux rencontres fortuites (je ne parle évidemment que de celles qui comptent). Nous avons tort de penser que nous allons buter dans les gens au petit bonheur. J’ai toujours le sentiment que c’est nous qui les faisons surgir : ils apparaissent à point nommé, comme faits sur mesure, sur commande, pour répondre exactement (nous ne nous en apercevons souvent que bien plus tard) à des besoins en nous, à des désirs parfois inavoués ou inconscients. »

Nathalie Sarraute, la romancière des « sensations à l’état naissant » comme elle l’écrit dans Tropismes, Banier l’a photographiée plusieurs fois. Elle nous propose, je crois, une voie d’accès perspicace aux interventions scripturales pratiquées par l’artiste sur ses tirages photographiques. Anecdotes, récits, dialogues, vision romanesque – tous ces termes déjà utilisés plus haut renvoient bien sûr à l’écriture de fiction. Or, depuis plus de trente ans, Banier écrit des romans, des pièces de théâtre… ; mais aussi, sur ses photographies, il appose des mots isolés (« soulagement », « surface », figure »), des fragments de fiction plus ou moins longs (« Ils disent n’importe quoi », « et si elle me hait, qu’y puis-je ? »), des confidences (« je n’oublie rien »), des maximes ou des devises (« Le quotidien est discutable », « Fuyez l’horreur du regret »), des extraits de sa correspondance (« Mon cher Yves,… »), des bribes de journaux intimes (« I saw her with Fidel Castro and Kate Moss »), des anecdotes tragi-comiques, de brefs dialogues (« Reste ma crevette please »), des légendes (« arbres », « zones de chagrin », « main abandonnée », « fermoir de larme »), des vers isolés (« les oiseaux cette nuit avaient les yeux bleus »), des notes télégraphiques, des suites d emots rappelant l’écriture automatique des surréalistes (« dormez tranquille / fumée sans feu »), etc., tout cela réalisé avec une extrême liberté formelle, un foisonnement qui témoigne d’une grande rapidité d’exécution, et divers modes d’inscription sur lesquels j’aimerais m’arrêter un instant.

Tantôt Banier investit ce qu’on pourrait appeler les réserves de l’image photographique pour les couvrir d’une calligraphie régulière et serrée ; dans les entours du « sujet » ou des « sujets » de l’iamge qu’il détoure patiemment, le texte se déploie, noir sur blanc ou blanc sur noir, comme si Banier écrivait sur un cahier aux pages irrégulières (voir Louis Aragon ou encore Le canapé de Picasso). On lit alors une anecdote, un souvenir, à moins qu’il ne s’agisse de fragments ou d’extraits relativement longs, tirés de quelque nouvelle, roman, correspondance, dont nous ignorerons toujours l’essentiel.

Tantôt, comme sur la très belle photo peinte intitulée Lucinda Childs, de brefs textes de nature hétérogènes se déploient dans ces mêmes réserves photographiques, textes accompagnés de vignettes, de croquis, de petites caricatures, de dessins « naïfs » et humoristiques, qui composent comme un récit illustré jeté en vrac, un mystérieux rébus à plusieurs dimensions, inscrit sur le noir photographique comme sur un tableau noir où d’épais traits de blanc évoquent la craie ou encore, curieusement, la gravure. La photo devient ici album de croquis où, comme dans les célèbres carnets de Delacroix, se mêlent essais et esquisses, tentatives typographiques, notations prises dans l’urgence, sur le vif, mais sans jamais respecter l’impératif scolaire d’une très hypothétique « page d’écriture » qui se déploierait sagement de gauche à droite et de haut en bas. Poussant un peu plus loin le bouchon de la fantaisie, on pourrait même considérer presque toutes les interventions scripturales de Banier sur le tirage photographique ou la toile comme autant de pieds de nez sarcastiques d’un enfant espiègle et frondeur, fermement décidé à transgresser toutes les règles de l’écriture « bien formée » et, parfois de l’orthographe (ça devient , raté devient râté, etc.). il y a là comme une volonté de régression contrôlée, qui se manifeste aussi dans le dessin « peu appliqué », la peinture « bâclée », le tableau « inachevé », le « ça ne se fait pas » qui, là encore, se fait pourtant : un émouvant défi à la norme, le désir rebelle de s’élever contre les obligations sans visage, d’où qu’elles viennent, pour les narguer et, dans le même temps, les remplacer par les caprices de l’instant, par l’irruption anarchique des mille visages qu’on porte en soi.

Tantôt enfin, comme dans l’Autoportrait de 1998, l’écriture maintenant colorée et d’une irrégularité frôlant l’illisibilité investit presque toute la photographie pour la masquer de ses rythmes et de son énergie. Seul le regard du personnage encagoulé réussit à percer l’écran de cette calligraphie affolée, de ce pullulement fébrile de lettres, de traits et de taches qui masquent une seconde fois le sujet de l’œuvre, c’est-à-dire l’artiste lui-même. Ici, l’écriture vaut pour sa fonction plastique, elle n’est plus simplement porteuse d’un « sage message », mais son tracé même véhicule une énergie, elle est geste, action, empreinte instantanée d’un état d’esprit, d’une éphémère tonalité affective, « sensation à l’état naissant » comme l’écrivait Nathalie Sarraute.

On utilisait jadis la peinture sur photographie à trois fins bien distinctes : le repiquage, le rehaut, la colorisation. Le repiquage permettait, et permet toujours, de corriger avec un pinceau très fin les menus défauts d’un tirage. Le rehaut avait pour but d’accentuer tel ou tel détail d’un tirage. Quant à la colorisation, elle tendait à transformer une image en noir et blanc en une image colorée, grâce à l’application de grands aplats d’aquarelle sur certaines zones bien définies. Le rehaut est parfois pratiqué par Banier pour souligner une forme, corriger les traits d’un visage, mais chez lui cette technique fait toujours l’objet d’une intervention parfaitement visible, lisible, qui évoque davantage une transformation compulsive, une métamorphose inspirée que la discrétion artisanale d’un réajustement secondaire. Quant à la colorisation, loin de respecter les formes originelles de l’image, elle a plutôt pour effet chez lui de porter atteinte à son intégrité. Il y a là un effet de désacralisation de l’image photographique, d’iconoclasme vengeur et peut-être rageur. Plutôt que d’orner, de décorer de mettre en valeur, bref de rehausser l’icône photographique avec ses pinceaux, Banier s’en prend à elle par toutes ses interventions manuelles, comme si à la place de pinceaux c’étaient des couteaux – autre instrument du peintre – qu’il manipulait. D’où, sans doute, une curieuse impression face à ces photos peintes : comme si une vitre s’interposait entre le spectateur et le tirage intact en noir et blanc, une vitre sur laquelle l’artiste aurait déposé ses textes et ses pigments…

De fait, à l’exception du cinéma, la photographie est le médium plastique qui offre la plus grande illusion de réalité, en particulier l’illusion de la profondeur et du relief ; mais, lorsqu’elle est ainsi superposée à des effets de surface – surtout le texte, qui évoque irrésistiblement la planéité de la page, mais aussi la facture frontale de la peinture de Banier –, naît l’impression d’un décollement de la peinture, laquelle « s’éloigne »alors de son support photographique. Cet effet de vitrine passée au blanc d’Espagne n’est nulle part plus présent dans l’œuvre de Banier que dans un grand format, intitulé Claude Lévi-Strauss. Le Brestalou, août 1998, où la quasi-totalité de l’image photographique est recouverte de larges coups de pinceau blancs qui l’oblitèrent presque entièrement. On peut d’ailleurs s’interroger sur le sens de cet effacement qui, au célèbre ethnologue, substitue la mystérieuse calligraphie d’une écriture qu’on dirait primitive…

Par ailleurs, l’irruption de l’écriture dans la photographie nous entraîne dans une temporalité différente : nous étions dans le visible pur, dans l’appréhension immédiate d’une image, et voilà que le lisible reprend ses droits, nous impose la diachronie implacable de ses syntagmes. Voilà, aussi, qu’au silence de la photographie vient se greffer un autre régime de signes : le langage. Logorrhée, babil, injonctions, murmures, slogans, cris, aveux chuchotés, déclarations brûlantes, reproches, prières, chagrins : tous les registres de la fiction et de la métamorphose de sa propre vie en mots griffent, lacèrent, tailladent la surface trop lisse pour être honnête de la photographie. Là encore avec un effet d’énigme, de fragment à jamais incomplet, l’écriture vient miner les fausses évidences de l’instantané photographique en lui accordant une profondeur temporelle inédite. La photographie, gel du temps et prélèvement du réel, bascule alors vers ses marges troubles, vers son hors-champ invisible mais dicible, son inéluctable participation à un récit de rencontre, à une histoire d’affects, vers cette part d’intimité inscrite dans le protocole essentiel de la prise de vue et dont Banier a saisi toute la force en nous livrant quelques bribes de son secret.

« Je ne crois pas aux rencontres fortuites », pourrait donc dire l’artiste, après Nathalie Sarraute. L’auteur de Tropismes évoque de manière tout aussi prémonitoire la peinture de mots et de signes de François-Marie Banier, dans le passage suivant de Martereau, roman publié en 1953 (Banier avait six ans…) : « des sortes de signes très rapides contenant tout cela, le résumant – telle une brève formule qui couronne une longue construction algébrique, qui exprime une série de combinaisons chimiques compliquées – des signes si brefs et qui glissent en lui, en moi si vite que je ne pourrais jamais parvenir à bien les comprendre, à les saisir, je ne peux que retrouver par bribes et traduire gauchement par des mots ce que ces signes représentent, des impressions fugitives, des pensées, des sentiments souvent oubliés qui se sont amassés au cours des années et qui maintenant assemblés comme une nombreuse et puissante armée derrière ses étendards se regroupent, s’ébranlent, vont déferler… »

Car c’est bien d’une déferlante qu’il s’agit dans cette peinture brute et parfois brutale d’ « impressions fugitives », de « sensations à l’état naissant », de tropismes éphémères où il serait vain de chercher le moindre ordre rationnel, la moindre continuité logique en dehors des injonctions souveraines de l’inconscient. Il s’agit bien plutôt d’une peinture sans début ni fin, plongée dans l’intimité autobiographique, tout entière absorbée par son acte d’enregistrement, par le présent de son exécution, l’instant de son accomplissement et, en même temps, l’inscription forcément retardée de bribes de texte. C’est une peinture sans repentir – aux sens pictural mais aussi religieux du terme –, soumise à la sincérité du geste, à la force de l’affect, à la dictée de la pulsion. Peinture médiumnique ? Sans doute, car l’artiste se fait ici oracle de son univers personnel, voyant à la recherche de vérités cachées, boussole orientée par les champs magnétiques de son subconscient.

Et parmi ces aimants dont les colorées se concrétisent ou, mieux, se déposent d’elles-mêmes comme de la limaille de fer sur la toile, figurent des foules de visages dessinés plus que peints, esquissés plus que dessinés, avec une rapidité d’exécution qui en fait de petits personnages drolatiques, fantomatiques, somnambuliques, parfois rassemblés en groupes énigmatiques, leurs grands yeux interrogateurs tournés vers le spectateur comme des maques de carnaval, des spectres inquiétants, des bonshommes blafards, des poupées vaudou ou des effigies africaines : le tableau est-il vraiment la maison du bonheur et ces lutins écarquillent-ils seulement les yeux parce qu’ils nous découvrent, nous et notre malheur ?

« Je ne connais pas les règles de l’art de peindre, mais qui connaît les justes proportions du chagrin ? », interroge joliment Banier. Ainsi, le tableau est pour lui une « surface de réparation »  – ces trois mots apparaissent verticalement sur une toile récente –, surface de réparation contre les affronts du temps et les blessures intimes, une arène de l’éphémère, la nasse du fugace, le collet de l’enfui rattrapé in extremis, l’enclos du temps perdu qui désormais ne fuit plus, saisi, figé, gelé dans cette remémoration picturale dont l’essence profonde est, on l’aura compris, photographique.

Une peinture sans début ni fin

par Brice Matthieussent


Cet entretien a été réalisé par Brice Matthieussent à l’occasion de la sortie du catalogue de l’exposition Fotos y pinturas qui a eu lieu au Centro Recoleta à Buenos Aires au Brésil du 17 avril au 21 mai 2000.