François-Marie Banier is an artist who has photographed with unusual intensity, through the body and face of persons chosen intentionally or casually, life in the splendour of its beauty and the melancholy of its decadence.

While we had never met, I knew his work from books and exhibitions catalogues.

After a brief meeting in Milan the decision to expand the original project was immediate and natural, and we have thus organised an anthological exhibition at the Triennale, which is mainly focused on his photographic work, and a solo show at the Mudima Foundation which principally features his paintings, to which he has dedicated most of his artistic research in recent years.

Large photographic images, recounted as in a diary of memories, have been re-invented by the felicitous superimposition of pictorial elements by the artist.

This is a unique opportunity, due to its visual quality, to familiarise with a creative adventure which has by now lasted forty years, and which the artist still continues, never satisfied, still searching for new inspiration.

We would like to thank the artist, the Milan Triennale and the Centre Culturel Français de Milan for making this initiative possible.

François-Marie Banier

by Gino Di Maggio


This text was written by Gino Di Maggio, published by Mudima on the occasion of the release of the exhibition catalog François-Marie Banier which took place at the Triennale di Milano & Fondazione Mudima in Milan from the 6th of May until the 30th of July 2000.

François-Marie Banier est un artiste qui a photographié, avec une rare intensité, la vie dans toute la plénitude de sa beauté comme dans la mélancolie de sa décadence à travers le corps et le visage de personnages qu’il a choisi ou qu’il a rencontré fortuitement.

Nous ne nous étions jamais rencontrés. Je connaissais son travail par les livres et les catalogues de ses expositions.

Lors d’une première et brève rencontre à Milan, il nous vint à l’idée, tout naturellement et spontanément, d’élargir le projet original : une exposition de ses œuvres photographiques à la Triennale, et une exposition, à la Fondation Mudima, mettant l’accent sur l’œuvre picturale, à laquelle l’artiste a essentiellement consacré sa recherche dans les dernières années.

De grandes images photographiées, racontées comme un journal de la mémoire, et réinventées par l’heureuse superposition de la peinture de l’artiste.

Une occasion, rare pour sa qualité visuelle, de se confronter avec une aventure créative, commencée il y a une quarantaine d’années, jamais assouvie et à la recherche continuelle de nouvelles impulsions. Une occasion dont nous sommes grés à l’artiste, à la Triennale de Milan et au Centre Culturel Français de Milan pour l’avoir rendue possible.

François-Marie Banier

par Gino Di Maggio


Ce texte à été écrit par Gino Di Maggio, publié aux éditions Mudima à l’occasion de la sortie du catalogue de l’exposition François-Marie Banier à la Triennale di Milano & Fondazione Mudima à Milan du 6 mai au 30 juillet 2000.