Foreword - François-Marie Banier

It is a great honour to be presenting the works of  François-Marie Banier, the photographer and painter, in Buenos Aires. It is also quite a challenge: for if an exhibition by this complex artist will enrich the cultural life of our city, allowing us to appreciate, reflect upon and share its creative obsessions, it is very difficult to describe in only a few words a man whose work touches on areas as diverse as literature, theatre, painting and photography.

Few artists have mined the seam of their torments with such originality and talent.

In each of these photographs the gazes and bearing of the characters, the nuances and the play of shadow and light reflect the profoundly human concerns that run through all his work.

Culture takes us out of ourselves, enable us to think, to imagine and to grow. It enriches our personal and social lives. The chief goal of the policy of the City Government of Buenos Aires is to make outstanding artistic and cultural works accessible to all its inhabitants and to all its visitors.

The exhibition by François-Marie Banier at the Recoleta Cultural Centre will help us to broaden the horizon of our perceptions and, even better, bring us closer to the mystery of art.

 

 

Translation: Charles Penwarden

Foreword

by Teresa de Anchorena


This text was written by Teresa de Anchorena, published by Gallimard on the occasion of the release of the exhibition catalog Fotos y pinturas which took place at Centro Cultural Recoleta in Buenos Aires from the 17th of april until the 21th of may 2000.


Photo: Teresa de Anchorena by François-Marie Banier

Avant-propos - François-Marie Banier

C’est un grand honneur de présenter les œuvres de François-Marie Banier, photographe et peintre, à Buenos Aires. La tâche est pourtant ardue : si l’exposition de cet artiste complexe enrichit la vie culturelle de notre ville et nous permet de profiter, penser et participer à ses obsessions, il est cependant très difficile de faire en quelques mots le portrait d’un homme dont les œuvres touchent à des domaines aussi divers que la littérature, le théâtre, la peinture ou encore la photographie.

Peu d’artistes ont été ainsi capables de mettre à profit leurs tourments avec autant d’originalité et de talent.

Les personnages, leurs regards, leurs gestes ainsi que les nuances, ombres et lumières de chacune des photographies de Banier reflètent la préoccupation profondément humaine de toute son œuvre.

La culture nous permet de penser, sortir, imaginer, grandir. Elle enrichit notre vie personnelle et sociale. La politique du Gouvernement de la Ville de Buenos Aires a pour objectif prioritaire de mettre à la portée de tous ses habitants et de tous ses visiteurs les expressions artistiques et culturelles les plus éminentes.

L’exposition de  François-Marie Banier au Centre culturel Recoleta contribuera à élargir notre horizon de perception et, mieux encore, nous rapprochera du mystère de l’art.

 

Traduction : Laurence Berlandier

Avant-propos

par Teresa de Anchorena


Ce texte a été écrit par Teresa de Anchorena, secrétaire à la Culture du Gouvernement de la Ville de Buenos Aires, publié chez Gallimard à l’occasion de la sortie du catalogue de l’exposition Fotos y pinturas qui a eu lieu au Centro Recoleta à Buenos Aires au Brésil du 17 avril au 21 mai 2000.


Photo: Teresa de Anchorena de François-Marie Banier