Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier

Imprudences

My first experience of the photographic work of François-Marie Banier came when I was preparing my exhibition “My (Private) Heroes” at the MARTA Herford museum in 2004. I did not know him, but his name stayed in my mind. I found his work appealing and moving, and also, so close to real life – or at least, life as I had so often experienced it during my stays in Paris and other big cities.

Unique beings at a unique moment when each individual becomes their own personality. My admiration grew when I visited the artist in his studio and at home, where I went from one discovery to another.

The art of photography is a passionate process that not only informs us about the workings of society, with all its different facets, its modes of behaviour, its habits and its developments, but above all about the way an individual – the artist and photographer – perceives the great diversity of this society that is increasingly evolving into a multicultural entity. […]

Excerpt from the Jan Hoet text

Steidl, Göttingen

2015

b&w illustrations
25 cm
English, french

ISBN 978-3-86930-919-4



Buy the book

Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier
Imprudences - François-Marie Banier

Imprudences

Pendant la préparation de mon exposition « my (private) Heroes » au musée MARTA Herford en 2004, j’ai été confronté pour la première fois à l’œuvre photographique de François-Marie Banier, que je ne connaissais pas mais dont le nom a continué à occuper mes pensées. Je trouvais son œuvre attachante et émouvante, et aussi tellement proche de la vraie vie — du moins la vie telle que je l’avais découverte si souvent lors de mes passages à Paris et dans d’autres métropoles.

Des êtres uniques à un moment unique oú chaque individu devient sa propre personnalité : mon admiration s’est encore intensifiée lorsque j’ai rendu visite à l’artiste dans son atelier et chez lui, où je passais d’une découverte à l’autre.

L’art de la photographie est un moyen passionnel qui non seulement nous informe sur les rouages d’une société sous toutes ses facettes, ses comportements, ses habitudes et ses développements, mais surtout sur la manière dont un individu, en l’occurrence l’artiste photographe, perçoit la grande diversité de cette société évoluant de plus en plus vers une entité multiculturelle. […]

Extrait du texte de Jan Hoet

Steidl, Göttingen

2015

illustrations n&b
25 cm
Anglais, français

ISBN 978-3-86930-919-4



Acheter le livre