François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie Banier - François-Marie Banier

François-Marie Banier

This catalog is published on the occasion of François-Marie Banier’s exhibition at the Triennale di Milano & Fondazione Mudima in Milan from the 6th of May until the 30th of July 2000.


François-Marie Banier is an artist who has photographed with unusual intensity, through the body and face of persons chosen intentionally or casually, life in the splendour of its beauty and the melancholy of its decadence.

While we had never met, I knew his work from books and exhibitions catalogues.

After a brief meeting in Milan the decision to expand the original project was immediate and natural, and we have thus organised an anthological exhibition at the Triennale, which is mainly focused on his photographic work, and a solo show at the Mudima Foundation which principally features his paintings, to which he has dedicated most of his artistic research in recent years.

Large photographic images, recounted as in a diary of memories, have been re-invented by the felicitous superimposition of pictorial elements by the artist.

This is a unique opportunity, due to its visual quality, to familiarise with a creative adventure which has by now lasted forty years, and which the artist still continues, never satisfied, still searching for new inspiration.

We would like to thank the artist, the Milan Triennale and the Centre Culturel Français de Milan for making this initiative possible.

Gino Di Maggio

 

The Snapshot

The gesticulation started a long time before I was born. Living was an obligation. The laughter and the tears, and all the game around these awkward people; they would take me in their arms, saying loudly how cute this kid is, and look at his face, how resembling it is. […]

Extract from the text The Snapshot by François-Marie Banier

 

Quotations

Photography

I have always hunted the unknown person, weighed by stars invisible to the eye, hopes and regrets that photography exploits as if they were gold mines. Every time, I hold out my hat to these anonymous people, full of sentiments because they touch me – my hat is my camera, of course. Every photo I take answers a precise intention that may be confused at first, but with time, the unknown reveals itself and dialogue develops. Every photo expresses a feeling, joins in a world, discovers another one. […]

Excerpt from the text Quotations by François-Marie Banier

 

The humanism of François-Marie Banier
A modern antidote to the artificiality and virtuality of the global media society

It is extremely refreshing to open a book, or see an exhibition, by François-Marie Banier; it is a way to reassure oneself that even in these days, dominated by the dazzling and superficial approach of the mass media, Humanity still roams the streets of our big cities, and that there are still artists who enjoy to look for persons capable of being themselves, to capture them in the instant in which, for a moment, due to excessive emotions or a temporary distraction, when the mask and the social defenses are dropped, they reveal the coincidences between a physiognomy, a personality and a destiny. In fact, it is very hard to image humanity in an abstract sense; it is much easier to recognise in a particular human being: a man or woman who suddenly, with a smile, but also with a tear or a grimace, succeeds in feeling and manifesting the promise that after all, continues to keep us together. Yes, deep down, forgotten, dispersed in the thousand commitments, worries, perplexities of life our common denominator, Humanity still survives. […]

Excerpt from the text The humanism of François-Marie Banier by Daniela Palazzoli

 

François-Marie Banier the primitive

It begins in the studio, that secret place, hidden, concealed in a yard. And it’s not just a studio: it is a place for life, work, writing, painting a place where everything mixes up, piles up. Each door opens on piles of photo, painting sketches, works in progress or completed, innumerable drafts, lying on the floor, waiting for the next working session. The first impression is astonishment, a feeling of proliferation, abundance, submersion: this is how I felt when I entered this universe for the first time. […]

Excerpt from the text François-Marie Banier the primitive by Dominique Stella

Mudima, Milan

2000
190 pages
b&w and color illustrations
31 cm
Italian, english, french

ISBN 88-8158-286-4

François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier
François-Marie banier - François-Marie Banier

François-Marie Banier

Ce catalogue a été publié à l’occasion de l’exposition François-Marie Banier à la Triennale di Milano & Fondazione Mudima à Milan du 6 mai au 30 juillet 2000.


François-Marie Banier est un artiste qui a photographié, avec une rare intensité, la vie dans toute la plénitude de sa beauté comme dans la mélancolie de sa décadence à travers le corps et le visage de personnages qu’il a choisi ou qu’il a rencontré fortuitement.

Nous ne nous étions jamais rencontrés. Je connaissais son travail par les livres et les catalogues de ses expositions.

Lors d’une première et brève rencontre à Milan, il nous vint à l’idée, tout naturellement et spontanément, d’élargir le projet original : une exposition de ses œuvres photographiques à la Triennale, et une exposition, à la Fondation Mudima, mettant l’accent sur l’œuvre picturale, à laquelle l’artiste a essentiellement consacré sa recherche dans les dernières années.

De grandes images photographiées, racontées comme un journal de la mémoire, et réinventées par l’heureuse superposition de la peinture de l’artiste.

Une occasion, rare pour sa qualité visuelle, de se confronter avec une aventure créative, commencée il y a une quarantaine d’années, jamais assouvie et à la recherche continuelle de nouvelles impulsions. Une occasion dont nous sommes grés à l’artiste, à la Triennale de Milan et au Centre Culturel Français de Milan pour l’avoir rendue possible.

Gino Di Maggio

 

Le déclic

C’est bien avant ma naissance que la gesticulation a commencé, il y avait obligation de vivre, et les rires et les larmes, et le manège autour de ce petit monde maladroit qui me prenait dans ces bras le trouvant, à voix haute, joli ce bambin, très ressemblant ce visage de plus, graine d’émotion, machine infernale qui allait grandir, monstrueusement se développer, rapport à la petite bête qui se débattait encore, et selon la logique des jours, ira les enterrer tous avant d’y passer « soi-même ». […]

Extrait du texte Le déclic de François-Marie Banier

 

Citations

La photographie

J’ai toujours traqué l’inconnu chargé des étoiles invisibles à l’œil nu, espérances et regrets que la photographie exploite comme autant de mines d’or. Chaque fois, à ces anonymes pleins de sentiments qui me touchent, je tends mon chapeau — mon chapeau c’est mon appareil photo. Chacune de mes photographies répond à un intérêt précis, confus peut-être au moment ou je bondis, mais au fil du temps l’inconnu se révèle et le dialogue se déroule. […]

Extrait du texte Citations de François-Marie Banier

 

L’humanisme de François-Marie Banier
Un antidote moderne au monde global des médias artificiels et virtuels

Ouvrir un livre, regarder une exposition de François-Marie Banier est extrêmement rafraîchissant et sécurisant : même dans cette période dominée par la logique toute spectaculaire et vouée à l’extériorisation des mass médias, l’humanité continue à s’aventurer dans les rues des grandes villes et il existe encore des artistes qui aiment aller à la recherche de personnes capables d’être elles-mêmes, pour les capturer au moment où, pour une fraction de seconde, par excès d’émotion ou dans un instant de distraction, le masque et les défenses sociales tombent, faisant coïncider une physionomie, une personnalité et un destin. En effet si il est difficile d’imaginer l’humanité de façon abstraite, il nous est bien plus facile de la voir, il nous est bien plus facile de la voir se matérialiser dans un être humain singulier ; ce « lui » ou cette « elle » qui, tout à coup, dans un sourire mais aussi dans une larme ou une grimace, réussit à vivre et à manifester la promesse qui, somme toute, continue à nous tenir ensemble. […]

Extrait du texte L’humanisme de François-Marie Banier de Daniela Palazzoli

 

François-Marie Banier le primitif

Tout commence dans l’atelier, lieu secret, caché, enfoui au fond d’une cour ; ce n’est d’ailleurs pas un atelier mais un lieu de vie, de travail, d’écriture, de peinture ; tout s’y mélange et s’entasse. Chaque porte s’ouvre sur des photos accumulées, des tableaux esquissés, des œuvres en cours ou achevées, innombrables ébauches à même le sol, en attente de la prochaine séance de travail. La première impression est l’étonnement, une sensation de prolifération, d’abondance, de submersion : c’est ainsi que m’est apparu cet univers lors de ma première visite. […]

Extrait du texte François-Marie Banier le primitif de Dominique Stella

Mudima, Milan

2000
190 pages
Illustrations n&b et couleur
31 cm
Italien, anglais, français

ISBN 88-8158-286-4